1. Home
  2. Local Agency Support
  3. CNC Scholarships
  4. 2009-2010 CNC Scholarship Recipients

2009-2010 CNC Scholarship Recipients

CWA congratulates all of our Scholarship Recipients and supports their continued pursuit in advancing their careers within the WIC Program and thanks General Mills and the Vitamin Cases Consumer Settlement Fund (created as a result of an antitrust class action, one of the purposes of the Fund is to improve the health and nutrition of California consumers) for their donations to make these scholarships possible.

Stefan Harvey Scholarship

  • Emnet Assefa, PHFE WIC

This special scholarship honors the distinctive achievements of Stefan Harvey, former Director of the WIC Project at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities in Washington, DC. Ms. Harvey, who is a now a CWA Board Member and Assistant Director of the California Center for Public Health Advocacy, led national advocacy for the WIC Program during its first 30 years.

Anne Peterson Memorial Scholarship

  • Sara Housman, Monterey County WIC

We dedicate this scholarship to the memory of a beloved WIC state colleague, Anne Peterson, whose unique blend of operational and technical skills combined with her passion for the WIC Program’s mission. Anne really embodied the “heart and soul” of what it means to work in the WIC Program.

General Mills Scholarship

  • Grishelda Lancanlale, Northeast Valley Health Corporation WIC
  • Daniella Roya Lavi, Northeast Valley Health Corporation WIC

Dietetic Internships

  • Monica Al Sheikh, SDSU Foundation
  • Lia Berjis, Northeast Valley Health Corporation WIC
  • Kimberly Daggs, United Health Centers
  • April Goldenberg, Northeast Valley Health Corporation WIC
  • Christine Michelle Hamilton, San Diego American Red Cross WIC
  • Jessica Alexandria Handy, SDSU Foundation
  • Johanna Hanft, North County Health Services
  • Sarah Heller, PHFE WIC
  • Renee Johnson, United Health Centers
  • Lindsay Jones, SDSU Foundation
  • Chrissy Jordan, PHFE WIC
  • Kathleen Lang, SDSU Foundation
  • Christine Lee, PHFE WIC
  • Diana Elizabeth Martin, San Diego American Red Cross WIC
  • Jayme Pennington, North County Health Services
  • Diana Quitasol, PHFE WIC
  • Tricia Santos, SDSU Foundation

Graduate Students

  • Daniela Alvarado, San Diego American Red Cross WIC
  • Beth Arrindell, United Health Centers of the San Joaquin Valley
  • Myranda Barbo Teixeira, Northeast Valley Health Corporation WIC
  • Bernadette Joyce Mejia, Watts Healthcare Corporation
  • Jennifer Sachs, SDSU Foundation
  • Janelle Webb, Clinica Sierra Vista

Undergraduate Students

  • Winifred Tadios, State WIC Program


  • Wendy DeLaCruz, PHFE WIC
  • Xuan Hoa Le, Santa Clara County WIC
  • Janine Marello, Community Resource Project
  • Olivia Millan, Community Medical Centers
  • Jennifer Nolan, San Diego American Red Cross WIC


  • Allyson Blair Picou, PHFE WIC
  • Dennise Juliana Cabrera, PHFE WIC
  • Suzanne Marie Chasuk, San Luis Obispo Health Agency
  • Sandra Davis Hathaway, Watts Healthcare Corporation
  • Diana Orellana, PHFE WIC
  • Angelica Rojas, San Benito Health Foundation